Tech Note

All at once, the Comments on this blog have warped out of format, text leaking over to the right where the template begins.

I know 2 things:

1. When it comes to matters of tools and technology, anything more complicated than using a hammer to drive a nail will completely confound me.  I’m still puzzled about the Thermos bottle.  It keeps hot things hot and cold things cold – how does it know? and

b. Whatever happened, it’s probably something I did, even though I don’t know how, and I didn’t do whatever I did intentionally.  I know this from long experience and irritating lectures from both techies and rank amateurs, including a world famous blogger who told me on numerous occasions about “Error 18,” which describes the distance between the monitor and the hollow forehead of the idiot operator causing the problem.  “Although in your case, it’s Error 9,” he added, thoughtfully..  (My visual acuity at the time was such that I and had to keep the screen in licking distance if I wanted to see what was on it.)

But what the hell.  If I did it, maybe I can undo it.  So I spend some time meandering among controls and gadgets, and then poking through the Help and Support forums, and even found something hopeful.  But it didn’t work.

So I dash off a request for assistance to the mysterious elves laboring behind the scenes at WordPress.  Less than a day later, I see this reply:

Hi,

Thanks for letting us know. Looks like this is an issue on our end. I’ll get it tracked so that we can get it all sorted out for you.

Thanks for your patience. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Cheers,

Andrew | Happiness Engineer | WordPress.com

Mind-boggling.  A prompt and encouraging reply.  Florida Plunder and Loot should be so prompt and self-effacing.  And it wasn’t me after all!

Next step, of course, is to see if they can actually effect repairs.  Stand by.

This entry was posted in Gen. Snark, Maj. Snafu, Corp. Punishment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tech Note

  1. Old Timer says:

    Isn’t a “happiness engineer” how Xaviera Hollander described herself?

  2. Kent Standit says:

    Yeah, happiness engineer. Meanwhile your comments area is still FUBAR.

Leave a Reply

