State of the ‘State (an ongoing journal)

Yesterday was my 6-month post-radiation appointment, so I double check before I leave the house that I have my prostate gland with me.  Not to worry – I remember to wash my hands afterwards.

There is a slight delay to see the doctor while he waits for his medication to kick in.  “Oh, no, not today!  Is it 6 months already?” I hear him wail from behind closed doors.  “Goddammit.  That pain in the ass cockbite ruined my whole year.  Pour me another!”

Bad news – today’s the day he shoves the paddle in for a manual inspection.  Well, I seem to have this effect on medical personnel.  When I was born, the doctor slapped my father.

The intake is left to a veteran PA.  First she weighs me.  “You gained a pound,” she notes.

Yeah, thanks.  And your hair is greyer.

She starts firing the usual questions.  “Any pain or blood in your urine?”

No blood.  As for pain, you’ll have to ask the urine.

“I mean, does it burn?”

I don’t think so, but I never set it on fire.  And Guido doesn’t like it when I toss cigar butts in the toilet – she worries about clogging the plumbing.

“On average, how many times do you get up during the night to urinate?”

Every time.  I haven’t wet the bed even once.

Give the girl credit – she has access to sharp objects in that examining room and so far, none of them have found their way to my torso.

Shaking her head slightly in anticipation, she asks if my erections and ejaculations are normal.  I push out my chest like a strutting, um, cock! and tell her they’re spectacular, and offer to show her my trick with the donuts and silver dollars, but she passes.  When she takes my blood pressure and pulse, she is visibly disappointed that I have either.

The doctor arrives for the anal-invasion exam.  Grimly, he snaps on his gloves.  Going in, my plan is to coax up a hard-on just before I turn around, making certain he sees it.  Guido will have her cell-phone camera ready to capture his expression.  But there’s no time.  I’m not a teenager any more. * sniff *

So he just has at it, and I appreciate that he doesn’t lick his fingers afterwards.  Just another day at the office for us both.  The number of times I’ve gone through this over the last year qualifies me for Frequent BendOver Mileage Awards — like an extra-soft cushion for the waiting room and a complimentary sponge.

It could be a lot worse.  Suppose I had brain cancer, and he had to shove his paw inside my ear or up my nose to squeeze my frontal lobes.  Assuming he could find them.

Finally, I ask him if the tinnitus I’ve been experiencing might be related to either the cancer or the radiation treatments.  He looks at me thoughtfully.

“Y’know,” he begins, slowly, “I’ve been working in radiation oncology for a little over 12 years now, so I’d want to check with my partner who’s been at it for almost 30, but….” He pauses.  “I’d have to say that in our combined experience that might be the stupidest question I’ve ever heard.”

Fair enough.  I wonder – is he upset because I’m wearing my I (heart) ObamaCare speedo? I should have gone commando, as usual.  Well, next time.

This entry was posted in Shaken and Stirred. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to State of the ‘State (an ongoing journal)

  1. Rick says:

    Happy to hear things are normal.

    .

  2. For all the good the doctor’s checkup did, you could have shoved it up your ass. Seriously, if your doc is any good, he has ‘ring around the elbow’. They’re like the rings of a tree…you can see how experienced he is by counting them.

  3. Piles says:

    LMAO, if you’ll pardon the expression.

  4. Missing Lincoln says:

    So glad. You’re sick.

  5. Barbara Ganousch says:

    It’s reassuring to see that men have the same kind of communications issues with their physicians as women do. So often I feel like the purpose of my visit is for somebody to complete paperwork, not establish the state of my health.

  6. Skidageetch says:

    Your welcome!

  7. Miami Harold says:

    Like all illnesses, cancer hates laughter.
    Only some of us age, but all of us die,
    and how we end our days depends upon how we live them.
    Laughter is the best revenge and the best insurance policy.
    Plus, it’s cheap. Plus, it inspires others.
    Keep up the good work.
    And thank you.

  8. MadamI says:

    I will never age and will laugh to my grave. You of course make that very easy to do. Congrats on your anal postulation!!

Leave a Reply

