They Need Pleh

This is the Bizarro comic that appeared on Wednesday 8/9/11.

I snickered all damn day.  I love shit like this.

I copied and sent it around to many of my friends and former colleagues to whom I thought it would provide a good laugh.

Then the emails started.  There were two camps.

One camp found it hilarious, and re-sent it to dozens of their own colleagues and friends.

The other camp sent me emails saying, “I don’t get it,” or just plain “?”

At the end of the day it turns out that in order to get this, let alone find it funny, you probably need to have experienced some close contact with disabled people, preferably but not necessarily mentals.

Some of the folks I sent this to have close personal or professional experience with deaf people, as do I.  They found this comic not just funny, but insightful.

This general view was shared by the people I know who work with the learning disabled and the short yellow bus population.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, the joke is that the speaker is trying to say “Wow,”  but it comes out “Mom” because of his two-way dyslexia.

As I say, I liked it a lot, but I’m rather fond of crips, mentals, and chromosome freaks.

I like palindromes, too, which have nothing to with Sarah.

This entry was posted in Gen. Snark, Maj. Snafu, Corp. Punishment. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to They Need Pleh

  1. ya 'gotta' guessit says:

    707 !

  2. Education Talk Radio says:

    Mom! Now I understand. Thank you for the clarity re dyslexia. and stop picking on me because I’m an only child.

    Jesus
    son of doG

  3. I fear your title does a sad injustice to the great Professor Backwards who served with pride as Chair of the Linguistics Department at Harvard until his brutal Georgia gunshot murder in 1976. He was 66.

    There is no truth to his last words being “Pleh.” That was the tasteless creation of the Neo Nazi contributor Chevy Chase, spoken on the Communist television program Saturday Night Dead.”

    Now more to the point. The artist of this somewhat humorous cartoon is displaying an example of “reverse dyslexia”

    True vertical dyslexia would display the Greek letters, “Epsilon, Omicron, Epsilon. When they are reversed they show the Martian letters. “Yz, Gglm . Yz.

    But the way has anyone seen Prof. Backwards’ birth certificate?

  4. Mister E says:

    A man, a plan, a canal — Panama. A well-known palindrome, but my favorite is Are we not drawn onward, we few, drawn onward to new era. Even though I don’t know what it means.

  5. julesagray says:

    Now I’m chuckling/snickering all day. Thanks for helping me make my serene newsroom lively again.

  6. Barbara Ganousch says:

    Did you see today’s comic? The plastic honey bear arrives at his doorway and yells, “Home, I’m honey!”

Leave a Reply

