Hangover Monday

Happy after-Christmas pre-New Year.

Certainly not to my surprise,  but once again the only thing I ever ask for at Christmas failed to appear under our tree (or anybody else’s):  Peace On Earth.   

On the positive side, this weekend I sampled 4 tequilas I’d never tasted.  I conclude that until World Peace is as easy to achieve as Tequila Tipsiness, I’ll have to settle for what I can get which, when you think it over soberly, is pretty much the human condition anyway.

In other news, the NY Times Magazine runs an annual feature in December, “The Lives They Lived,” a bunch of short essays about notable persons who died during the year.  The editors changed the format a bit this time and included essays like this one.  It was written by a man who survived a natural catastrophe, one of several this year which made headlines.  Despite the fellow’s heroic and compassionate efforts, the three disabled guys in his care perished.  This is the best thing I read all weekend.  God damn.  



This entry was posted in Gen. Snark, Maj. Snafu, Corp. Punishment. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hangover Monday

  1. julesagray says:

    Please stop using that picture of me. Thanks.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Mine would be harsher punishment for parole violators, Stan squathole .
    [crowd is silent] And world peace!

  3. Merkin Way says:

    Peace on earth would be nice, alright, but now that you’re a big boy you should face the fact there ain’t no Santa Claus. Next year wish for a fire engine or a horsey.

  4. Kim Chee says:

    I remember the incident in the essay with the man thrown out of the house and found alive and broken in pieces. It sounded horrible. But his words about his haunting feelings for the 3 disabled men upset me further and I cried it was so sincere and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

