Maxwell House

Joy Johnson, who at 86 was the oldest woman to complete Sunday’s New York City Marathon, died on Monday at Bellevue Hospital in Manhattan.

Maxwell_HouseAs the New York Daily News reports, Johnson fell and hit her head on pavement near the marathon’s 20-mile mark. Medical personnel wanted to take her to the hospital, but she insisted on finishing the race… Johnson later complained of feeling tired. After lying down in her hotel room, she never woke up. She was declared dead at Bellevue. — runnersworld.com

Not a bad way to go, I guess.  The former gym teacher told media she was perfectly content just to be in the running, and quite fortunate: many people here age were in wheelchairs.  “I always say I’m going to run until I drop,” Johnson said the day before the marathon. “I’m going to die in my tennis shoes. I just don’t know when I’m going to quit.

Well, we know now.

Oh, the title of this post?  Remember their slogan: “Good to the last drop.”

This entry was posted in People Who Died, Died. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maxwell House

  1. Barbara Ganousch says:

    Well I sure hope she wore her tennis shoes to bed.

  2. Hose B says:

    Retired New York teacher dead at 87– she’s about ready to move to south Florida and start driving.

Leave a Reply

