Flaming Asshole

I bet he thought it was a good idea at the time.

SspiderEATTLE (AP) – A man who used a can of spray paint and a lighter as a makeshift blowtorch to kill a spider in his laundry room started a blaze that caused $60,000 worth of damage, Seattle fire officials said Wednesday.

The man and his mother got out of the house, and no injuries were reported in the fire that broke out in the West Seattle home Tuesday night, said Kyle Moore, a spokesman for the Seattle Fire Department.

Moore said the man used the spray paint and lighter as “a self-made blowtorch to kill a spider in the laundry room” of a rental house. — philly.com

This is what happens in a world where  nobody buys print media any more, so there’s never a magazine or newspaper handy to roll up into a weapon.  And speaking of weapons, why didn’t he just exercise his god-granted 2nd Amendment rights by hauling out his automatic firearm and blowing the varmint through the wall?  You know, like a real man (who’s afraid of spiders and  lives with his mother).

Clearly spray paint needs to be regulated so it’s not allowed in the hands of Entirely Stupid People.   It’s either that or prohibit anything with over 4 legs to cohabit with them.  In fact, make it 3 legs: I wouldn’t want to endanger a dog or a hamster.

No word on the well-being of arachnid, but I imagine it’ll soon be reported…..on the web.

 

This entry was posted in NIMBY. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flaming Asshole

  1. E.O. Hippus says:

    Media reports this morning that the spider “probabl;y didn’t make it,” insofar as the whole wall had been destroyed. I’m not so sure — those spiders can be tough to exterminate. He might have legged it out.

  2. I had to wryly laugh at the 2nd Amendment solution. My own father used to shoot tarantulas in Texas.

    But hey, wtf happened to catching the spider in a glass and taking it outdoors? Or is that my silly liberal singing for her supper?

    • Barbara Ganousch says:

      I ‘relocate’ spiders from inside to outdoors by trapping them in a cup and setting them loose. They catch mosquitoes and flies and other pests. But I wouldn’t get any closer than shooting distance to a tarantula, either. Ugh. What a mess that must have made.

  3. Constance Turmohel says:

    just the 1st minute or so,

    • Dawgbowl says:

      I remember the movie, not this scene which is pretty good. I also remember a movie from the early 90s called Arachnophobia, sort of a comedy/horror. Spiders can make people crazy. They bother me, but I think I’m smart enough not to burn down my house trying to get rid of one.

  4. One Man's Opinion says:

    Spiders are good people. I also relocate spiders that are in the way, but it’s always good to have a few around. However, I must admit I do hate walking through unseen webs.

Leave a Reply

