He DID Build That

shoeless-joeThe talented and quirky author W.P. Kinsella died over the weekend. Or, as they say in show biz, “He’s dead, Jim.”

I’m glad he received some recognition, although it irks me that he’s best known as the guy who wrote a book (“Shoeless Joe”) that became a very popular movie (“Field of Dreams”). It’s an old and worthless lament — books don’t get the acclaim or reward that movies inspire — and a sad commentary on the culture and education of the American public.

If I say, “Clockwork Orange,” do you think of Anthony Burgess, who wrote the book, or Stanley Kubrick, who made the movie? You can play this game all day ’til the popcorn cools and it will end the same way every time.

Still, a paycheck is a paycheck, and I don’t doubt Kinsella was delighted to get his. Besides, it was a decent movie, as faithful to the book as it needed to be. He struck me as smart enough to take the food before biting the hand that fed him.

Godspeed, my friend, and when you bump into Ernie, tell him Let’s play two.

This entry was posted in People Who Died, Died. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to He DID Build That

  1. Hose B says:

    I was living in Puerto Rico when this movie was released. We called it “Chewless Jose.”

    OK, I made that up. I didn’t know it was a book, either.

  2. Flaming Yon says:

    I loved that movie. It made me laugh and cry! No idea it was a book first, Now maybe I’ll read it. Where’s the nearest books store? Oh, I see the problem.

  3. Lu Senz says:

    Guaranteed to start arguments in any sports bar: Shoeless Joe Jackson deserves a spot in the Hall of Fame. I have personally been punched in the head over this, and did my own share of punching as well. Last time when I said he should be considered if only because he’d be the only retarded autistic alcoholic in there. The somebody brought up Ricky Henderson.

Leave a Reply

