Head Shots

Odd — how come this didn’t happen in Florida?

A Yadkin County man who survived shooting himself in the head after shooting his wife in the head has been charged with attempted first-degree murder.

At the time of the shooting, Bryan Allgood already faced a charge of assault on a female in connection with his wife, according to court records. A domestic violence protection order was in place.

Valorie Allgood said her husband showed up at her home on Styers Mill Road and said they needed to talk. She said she told him he shouldn’t be there and ran out the front door. She said that’s when he went out another door and shot her as she tried to get away.

[S]heriff’s officers found Brian Allgood in a wrecked vehicle about a mile away… It appeared he’d shot himself in the head, according to the sheriff. — Winston-Salem Journal

You can read the details yourself — but if I understand this properly, the attempted murder charge pertains to the bungled shot at his wife, not himself.

Evidently he totaled his car, too.  Give him credit for thoroughness.  This is a a full-assed fuck-up, not half.  The real deal.

Some of you wonder why this devoluted specimen is permitted to look at, let alone own, his own firearm.  Others speculate that had the estranged missus been armed, she might have defended herself more effectively than running like hell.  Which raises the issue of the Stand Your Ground law all over again.

It also reinforces the famous NRA axiom that Guns Don’t Kill People, And Neither Do People With Bad Aim and Worse Driving Skills.  Although they try.

* sigh *

In other news about Great American Heroes, Roger Clemens has been exonerated, and Rodney King laid to rest.  And it’s only Tuesday!

PS:  Note spelling of “Valorie.”

PPS:  Thanks, Thor!

This entry was posted in NIMBY. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Head Shots

  1. Stan Garde says:

    Just an excitable boy. Patch him up, feed him some Ritalin, and he’ll be good to go.

  2. Elemenno P says:

    In a situation like this one, blaming the weapons for shooting is like blaming pit bulls for attacking.

  3. Valorie Allgood says:

    You left out the part that he tried to shoot me in the face first! That’s why I had to “run like hell”. Thank God for stupidity or I would not be here today to raise my children.

  4. Squathole says:

    @Valorie: I didn’t leave it out — it’s in the news report, 3rd paragraph. Nothing about your face, though. Thanks for the additional info.

    PS I’m a bit concerned about the way this line reads: “Thank God for stupidity or I would not be here today to raise my children.” Want to rephrase that?

    Thanks for stopping by. Better late than never.

    • Valorie Allgood says:

      Hello! I meant to say thank god my estanged husband was so stupid he couldn’t follow through with his plan…it’s amazing what drugs and alcohol can do to a person. I just knew when he walked thru that door I had to get away immediately cause I could tell it wasn’t going to be good but when I turned back to look for him the gun was pointed in my face and saw the barrel turn but no shot fired! I am so grateful that I survived to be here for my children because he certainly didn’t give a damn. I did not see your article until I searched my name last night..I am glad I did or i might have missed it…very well written…the part about the bad aim and poor driving skills…priceless 🙂

  5. C. Howard Fields says:

    First, let’s exicute all the crazy people before they can become a danger to themselves or others.
    Second, let’s pass a law prohibiting the production, sale or use of alcoholic beverages.
    Then, when we’ve solved the problem of crazy drunks, we can ban all firearms on the planet!
    … Its a plan,,,

Leave a Reply

