Good Vibrations Give Her Excitations

Here’s your feel-good story of the day.  Maybe even the week.

A special device women use to rock the little man in their boat may also be used to clear up that frog in your throat, according to a Canadian scholar.

Man_In_A_Boat-gallery-finalUniversity of Alberta drama professor David Ley,  a spoken-word vocal coach, said two years ago he was working with an actress friend who had overworked her vocal chords after coming down with laryngitis a month prior.  Ley manually massaged her neck, but when that didn’t work he went looking for massagers, but found them all too big.

“I thought ‘Well, I know where they make small, handheld, vibrating massagers,’ ” he said. — philly.com

Yeah, I bet he does.  So Coach “Ley” walks his client into a sex shop where they select a small vibrator made by a company called LELO.  They try it out with great success, and since then he’s used it on another 150 people, as well as made a video watched almost 200,000 times.

 Patty Callahan, U.S. spokeswoman for LELO, said the company is “enamored by” Ley’s discovery and finds it “beyond exciting.”

Beyond exciting.  All the way to throatalicious.

I confess that imagining the application of a vibrator on the throat supplies me with several, um, therapeutic notions of my own.  I think that’s all I’ll say about that for now.

This makes me wonder what other neat uses one could find for a vibrator.  When I lived up north and suffered from allergies during hay fever season, I fantasized about an invention one could stuff into the nasal passages to clear them out — I imagined something like a pipe cleaner or a suction tube.  Now I wonder if a vibrator would do the trick.  It’s academic, though — moving to south Florida cured all my allergies except the one about working for a living.

Seems like there should be some creative practical applications in the kitchen, too.  Or at the bar  where you want it shaken, not stirred.

Got any ideas?

This entry was posted in NIMBY, Shaken and Stirred. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Vibrations Give Her Excitations

  1. Lukraakvars says:

    Wow… well what do you know. I actually can’t think of any other uses for a vibrator. I can only imagine someone massaging their throat with one in public tho… Could be hilarious! Good post btw. 🙂

  2. Mumblety Peg says:

    Men are such pigs.

  3. Barbara Ganousch says:

    My grandfather used a vibrator on his abdomen to relieve his chronic constipation. I imagine sometimes this might have got a bit messy, but thankfully, I really don’t know.

  4. Ruh Roh says:

    Oh, NOW I get it. He applied it externally. That makes more sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

